PPA Blog

PPA Awards 2019 Winners

By Louisa Cavell

20 Jun 2019

The 39th annual PPA Awards were held last night, June 19, at Grosvenor House Hotel, with the brightest lights of the professional publishing industry in attendance

Comedian and Presenter Alex Brooker hosted the evening. Alex is best known as one third of the presenting team behind Channel 4’s The Last Leg\, alongside Adam Hills and Josh Widdecombe, which is currently in its third series. As well as hosting various reality television shows and fronting his own documentary, Alex is also a British panel show favourite, appearing regularly on _8 Out of 10 Cats_, _Fake Reaction_ and Never Mind The Buzzcocks.

"The PPA Awards bring our whole industry together to celebrate the sheer excellence in consumer magazine and Business Media across all disciplines" said PPA CEO Barry McIlheney. "Tonight has been no exception, with a record-breaking number and exceptional standard of entries. Congratulations to all those nominated and especially to the winners, who stand out as the very best of our industry right now.”

PPA Chairman and CEO of TI Media Marcus Rich said: “Tonight is a very special occasion in the PPA calendar, when the whole industry comes together to celebrate another year of exceptional work. These awards have once again set the benchmark for excellence in our industry and continue to champion the people and brands who really push the boundaries, grab readers’ attention, and drive engagement across the board.”

The winners were whittled down from almost 500 entrants, from more than 70 companies, and judged by senior industry experts.

The Winners

PPA Show Me The Money Award

Winner: Fortnite, Dennis Publishing

Highly Commended: Creative Review Paywall Launch, Xeim, Centaur Media

PPA Innovation Of The Year

Winner: The Book Of Man Launch, The Book Of Man

PPA Designer Of The Year

Winner: Tim Scott, Campaign, Haymarket Media

PPA Columnist Of The Yeari

Winner: Sophie Beresiner, The Times, News UK

PPA Industry Partner Of The Year

Winner: Trackonomics

Highly Commended: Marketforce

PPA Magazine Retailer Of The Year

Winner: Waitrose & Partners

Highly Commended: Magazine Heaven

PPA Team Of The Year

Winner: Nursing Times, EMAP/Metropolis

Highly Commended: Dennis Subscriptions Marketing Team, Dennis Publishing

PPA Team Leader Of The Year

Winner: Ranj Begley, Chief Content Officer/UK Managing Director, Readly

PPA Unsung Hero Of The Year

Winner: Jackie Scully, Deputy Managing Director, Think

PPA Campaign Of The Year

Winner: New Scientist Live Subscriptions Blitz, New Scientist

Highly Commended: Mission Possible, Faversham House

PPA Business Intelligence Brand Of The Year

Winner: WGSN, Ascential

PPA Event Of The Year

Winner: World Architecture Festival, EMAP/Metropolis

PPA Content Agency Of The Year

Winner: Sunday

PPA Commercial Partnership Of The Year (Bronze, Silver, Gold)

Winner – Bronze: Den Of Geek/Sky Curfew, Dennis Publishing

Winner – Silver: Nursing Times/Macmillan Strategic Commercial Partnership, EMAP/Metropolis

Winner – Gold: JD Williams 50 Over 50 Amazing Women Awards, TI Media

PPA Writer Of The Year

Winner: Jonathan Heaf, GQ, The Condé Nast Publications

PPA Editor Of The Year

Winner: Farrah Storr, Cosmopolitan, Hearst Magazines UK

Highly Commended: Louise Kettle, Shout, DC Thomson

PPA Chairman’s Award

Winner: EMPIRE

PPA Special Interest Magazine Of The Year (Bronze, Silver, Gold)

Winner – Bronze: Wanderlust Magazine, Wanderlust

Winner – Silver: Country Living, Hearst Magazines UK

Winner – Gold: Nursing Times, EMAP/Metropolis

PPA Front Cover Of The Year (Bronze, Silver, Gold)

Winner – Bronze: BBC Gardeners' World, Immediate Media

Winner – Silver: EMPIRE, Bauer Media

Winner – Gold: Cosmopolitan, Hearst Magazines UK

PPA Hall Of Fame

Winner: Charles Reed

PPA Magazine Brand Of The Year (Bronze, Silver, Gold)

Winner – Bronze: Utility Week, Faversham House

Winner – Silver: Radio Times, Immediate Media

Winner – Gold: Country Life, TI Media

The Awards are made possible thanks to the support of our Strategic Partners: Air Business, Pensord, Upland Adestra and YM Group; our paper partner Denmaur Paper Media, our print partner Pensord, our design partner Anderson Norton Design and our production partner White Space Creative Solutions.

We’d also like to thank our event sponsors: ABC, Affino, CLA, DMD Global, Edit, ESCO, Evessio, Evolved Media, Grant Thornton, InPublishing, Marketforce, NLA media access, PLS, Readly, Sprylab and Woodwing.