Press regulator IPSO appoints new Board and Complaints Committee members

Louisa Cavell

Former Haymarket Editorial Director, Mark Payton, among new appointments made by The Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO) to its Board and Complaints Committee

Mark Payton, formerly Editorial Director at Haymarket Magazines, joins IPSO’s Complaints Committee as an editorial member. 

Payton, who has over 30 years’ consumer publishing experience as an editor and journalist, and is now an editorial consultant, lecturer and writer commented: 
“I am a passionate believer in a free press, so I am delighted to be joining IPSO's Complaints Committee. I hope that my 30 years of editorial experience can to help IPSO continue its mission as an intelligent, clear, effective regulator.”
Other appointees include Martin Trepte, former editorial director of Baylis Media, who also joins the Board as an editorial member and Matthew Lohn, senior partner at Fieldfisher solicitors joins as a lay member.

Andy Brennan QPM, a former senior police officer, and David Hutton, a former head teacher, join as lay members.
Chairman of IPSO, Sir Alan Moses said of the appointments:
“I’m delighted to welcome such distinguished new members to both IPSO’s Board and Complaints Committee. Their wealth of experience will further strengthen the organisation and demonstrates the high standing and reputation of IPSO after four years of operation.”
The new appointees will take up their posts from January 1 2019.


Get in touch